Home > random thoughts > Waiting for someone exhibits the effects of time dialation of SR

Waiting for someone exhibits the effects of time dialation of SR

Ok so the past couple of days have been boring and nerve-racking at the same time. Since the ICTP school of Physics has come to an end , there is not much that I can do here….. well there is touring, I don’t have enough cash to squander it on public transport! Trieste is a good place to walk around and I have done as much walking as I could! Alas today I just read some group theory notes and tried to do some ambitious stuff that did not end up going anywhere!

These past couple of days have been tense since I am eagerly waiting for an email from a certain Korean girl that I met at the school! Alas this is such weird behaviour for me. I havent felt this nervous or hopeful about another person for so long….. My life is changing again slowly and I think that this shall be good for me! Human emotion so spectacular…. just the other day I was smiling stupidly to myself, and now I am so nervous about some email. Ah this is what it must mean to live and not just being alive! I hope she says encouraging things in her reply. ^-^

Anyway I have also gone on a rampage and gotten hold of some really great asian films, which I recommend you watch! A friend of mine lent these films to me, some of which I shall recommend to you:

First up is (Order does not indicate a rating)

Okuribito / おくりびと

This is such a good film. It shall moisten your eyes! And the score is really something! The composer of the score for Okurbito is the famous Joe Hishaishi from the last post!

My Sassy Girl /Yeopgijeogin Geunyeo

I havent watched this as yet though after reading the reception that this film got from the Korean audience, this must be a sure win!  I shall watch later tonight and tell you guys whether it lived up to expectations!

Oldboy/ Oldeuboi

This such a good film! Park Chan-Wook is one of my favourite directors. The storyline is superb and you’ll marvel at the end. This film is a must watch! It’s very different from the Western films that is shown in the cinemas at home. This Korean film is something else!

There are some other ones that I have watched but alas I am too tired to look for the trailer to post their names. Well there is always tomorrow so…..

Ah but before I leave, I have to recommend that you watch these films in their original languages and not a dubbed version of them. Since I have started taking Japanese language lessons, I have come to appreciate the simplicity of English but also to marvel at how much of emotion can be conveyed in simple phrases of other languages. I think that English is a great language for communicating facts, I say this with the hard sciences and mathematics in mind, but it maybe true for the other fields of study to. So much more emotion is conveyed in Japanese that it’s quite amazing, hmm maybe it’s because of the cultural background that this is so. So I implore you to watch foreign(non-English) language films in their original language!

Ah and to end I have found another good version of Ave Maria by Shikata Akiko

yeah you can go ahead and tear-up while listening to her.. I shall not judge you! 🙂 . The Andre Rieu and Mirusia Louwerse combination is also amazing.

This is the full version of the Ave Maria by Kokia

I still prefer the previous version I posted by Kokia! A little side note: I am not a religious dude though this is such a great song that I can still appreciate it!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment