Home > random thoughts > Humans are Humans are Humans!

Humans are Humans are Humans!

Today is the second last day of the ICTP 2011 Summer School in Particle Physics. It was a bit sad knowing that the school is coming to an end. Being in an environment like this and just working with other enthusiastic people on physics was really great!

I made some new friends here at the school, two guys from South Korea, Han and Sung. Really cool guys! Both are working on Supersymmetry and pursuing careers in high energy theoretical physics. Han made an interesting remark today at the special dinner.  He said that it was quite amazing that all of us had made the choice of giving up fairly good life of being an applied physicist, engineer or a businessman, earning a large salary and getting the pretty girl, all in favour of the pursuit of the truth of the physical world.

This was quite amazing to me that he had also had these thoughts in his head. Initially I also had doubts about my choice of career…. well I still do have some nagging thoughts running around in the deep recesses of my mind, but at the end of the day I think I am happy about my choice of becoming a theoretical physicist! Besides things are not as gloomy as I paint it, there are lots of stuff that are great about my career….. like meeting hot asian babes at summer schools!!!!! hehehehehe…. yes as you may have surmised Ms. Hanoi is still occupying thought time in my mind! 🙂

It’s a bit sad that we humans can’t live an infinite amount of time. There are so many things that I want to do in my life that… I just don’t think that ONE lifetime is enough for me! But alas it is because we have a finite amount of time that we make the best of things and find success and happiness in places least expected! hehehehe I am getting philosophical now at this time of the night..

Anyway today as I was randomly browsing through some YouTube videos I came across some impressive sounds, that I think you guys should definitely listen to.

The first track is Ave Maria by Kokia. I have heard some other renditions of Ave Maria but this one is spectacular! Her voice seems to whisper to the strings of your heart causing them to resonate.

The other that I was moved by was this piece called Summer by Joe Hisaishi. This is the piano version which I think is better then the full version with other instruments

The original version is good but I prefer the piano version.

Both are so good pieces of art! I marvel at human creativity and am in awe of such feats of splendour! hmmm I feel sleepy now. I guess its time to call it a night.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment